Skip to content

Sneak Peek! Wilfred & Brenda’s Wedding

This blog has been moved to joshliba.com/blog, and you are currently viewing an archived post.  To visit the new blog, click here!

Here’s a preview of Wilfred & Brenda’s wedding!  An extremely sweet couple, if ever there was one. Simple and elegant details perfectly complimented their fun and loving personalities.  Can’t wait to share more from the final gallery in about two weeks.  Enjoy!

Bridal Tip:  Always a have a room with a nice window!  The golden morning sun helped make these detail shots warm and sweet!

When I asked Brenda what she loved the most about her dress, she pointed out all the pretty detail and lace work on the front and sides of the dress.  I agree!  This is also a tip for hi-key photographers.  It’s common practice among style photographers to overexpose an image about a full stop, to get a light and airy feeling.  But remember:  Brides usually love the detail in their dress, and in sunlight, it’s easy to ‘blow’ the highlights and wash out all that beautiful detail if one is not careful.

Really looking forward to more pictures from the ceremony.  Very tender vows had everyone choking up!  I was still able to take sharp pictures despite crying all over my equipment. Good thing my cameras are weather-proofed for that sort of thing!

Natural and beautiful flower settings everywhere!!!  I really loved the natural window light for most of the reception.

I don’t usually shoot in full sun, but the waterfalls were a special request.  I like how it turned out!  I made sure the sun was hitting them from behind to prevent harsh sun shadows and retain detail in the white dress, and then lit them from the front with a strong on-camera flash.  Similar to this technique I shared before, only this situation required I use the bare flash, no diffusers, for the most power.

I adore this shot (and the series of shots before and after this kiss) because it was totally unscripted.  Out in the beautiful gardens with an afternoon cool setting in, I told the couple that I needed to set up some equipment for the next shot, and they could sit on the bench nearby to wait.  Over the course of a many weddings, I’ve developed this super-aware peripheral vision that tells me if something will happen within a 50 foot radius of my body in the next 10 seconds.  Like spidey-sense, but for photographic moments.  Bouquet in hand, reminiscing about the day so far and their lives to come, they both leaned in for a sincerly sweet kiss.  Caught!  It just makes my heart beat a bit faster when I get these shots.

Closer to sunset, the light on the horizon turns gold and all the shadows in the garden turn a royal purple.  This is my favorite time of day, although short, when pictures are easiest to make.

Lots more to come and another wedding preview coming up this week!

Thanks for reading!

PHOTOGRAPHER GEEK SPEAK:  All pictures in this post were taken with Nikon D7000 and the following lenses and equipment: Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 VC, Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Macro (Jewelry only), Nikon 85mm f/1.4D, Tokina 50-135mm f/2.8  ((EXCEPTION: The photo with waterfall in full daylight was taken with Nikon D300s)) Other equipment used:  Nikon SB-900 Speedlite Flash, and Westcott 42-inch White Satin Umbrella (Used only for the picture third from last.  Couple was placed in shade and manual flash triggered off camera left via CLS)

www.joshliba.com

RSS Feed for this Blog!

Josh Liba Photography on Facebook 

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Anna Russell #

    Loved the pix and enjoyed very much your comments.

    July 26, 2011
  2. Awesome as always!

    July 26, 2011
    • Thank you Nancy! ;D Always glad to see your comments!

      July 26, 2011
  3. JayShep Photography #

    I appreciate how you break it down! I was able to follow you through every step, and I felt like I was there! Great work JOSH, and Great Inspiration for an aspiring wedding photographer!!!

    -JayShep

    July 26, 2011
    • Thanks Jay!!! Always nice to get comments from a fellow photog. I try to share what I can. 😀

      July 26, 2011
  4. Lisa Soto #

    Brenda looked amazing, you did a great job.

    August 30, 2011
  5. Bryan #

    Beautiful pictures as always, Josh!

    September 17, 2011

Leave a Reply

