Skip to content

Take chances with your photography. It’s free!

This blog has been moved to joshliba.com/blog, and you are currently viewing an archived post.  To visit the new blog, click here!

116.365 – Chance, originally uploaded by josh.liba.

If digital photography has taught me anything, it’s “Take the shot.”

Not that you should randomly shoot everything.
If you see a potentially great shot, but things aren’t just right, or don’t have time to compose, or lighting is all wrong, or can’t set everything in time… still… just take the shot. It doesn’t cost anything anymore.

Sometimes you see something is about to happen within the next few seconds. No time to think about the best settings, or you’ll miss the shot entirely. Slide into No-Flash Auto, or the faster Sports mode, and take the shot. The camera is pretty smart!

If the subject stays longer, or you can see it happening again, there may be time to change settings…

To avoid this panicky situation, you might also find yourself becoming a human light meter. As you approach a building, start changing the ISO (up!), aperture (open!) and exposure compensation (down!) Anticipate and adapt.

Anyway, this shot mas made while a friend was driving me to a better vista for the purple sunset. As we made the turn around a long curve, I noticed the sunset off the side windows in my mirror, and another friend’s car tailing behind us.

Chance!
Snap snap snap!

Even when we got up to the vista, I tried to stage the same shot again (turn the car from the sunset, line the car up behind), with better settings and sharper focus.

But it just wasn’t the same.

The ‘chance’ shot was the best one. …To me, anyway.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Hi Josh,
    You are right. In the digital age just take the picture is good advice.
    My photo blog of fun stuff from Nice, France came about because I starting taking pictures I would not have taken in the past with a print film. Now I have fun stuff to share.
    Check it out http://www.crazyparking.com
    D

    May 4, 2010
  2. I know what you mean about those wonderful “chance shots.” My last image of Suki was taken with me running in front of her. Holding the camera low to the ground, I fired off a couple frames as we both walked. I was shooting completely blind… and I came away with an image I liked. Good points!

    May 4, 2010
  3. just “take the shot”! i just did it this afternoon with main object my niece playing around with her friends. probbably i took 20-30 shots in 30 minutes . . . trying out every angle, anticipating every move of my niece . . . . .

    anyway with my point n shoot camera, my setting always auto with no flash. i dont want to take kids attention if the flash fire-up! 🙂

    July 12, 2010
    • That’s great! It takes alot of shots when it comes to kids too seeing as how they’re always moving and jumping. If they don’t mind you snapping away! ^_^

      30 or so pictures is already more than a roll of film would have provided! And you can pick the best ones from your set to keep.

      July 12, 2010

Leave a Reply

